#### OYSTER

#### (Organisation of yester year students of Rajagiri College of Social Sciences)

#### Annual Report 2016-17

The year 2016-17 was a fruitful year for OYSTER as well as for Rajagiri College of Social Sciences

#### **OYSTER** activities for the period:

#### **OYSTER Home Coming Day Jan 26th 2016**

OYSTER Day 2016 was conducted in Rajagiri Hill Campus, Kalamassery on 26th January from 10am to 2pm. The registration started by 10am and a total of 75 members registered for the event. The formal event started with Rajagiri Anthem followed with one minute silence in honour of all the departed alumni members. Mr Issac Varghese(Vice President, OYSTER) welcomed the gathering. The annual activity report of OYSTER for the year 2015-16 was presented by Mr.Kiran Thampi (Secretary, OYSTER). The highlights were the OYSTER Home coming day 2015, Alumni Involvement in Syllabus Revision, Bangalore chapter meeting held on 31<sup>st</sup> Oct 2015, Alumni contribution in various events organized by the departments, OYSTER contribution for best students in various departments etc. The cultural programmes presented by students from different batches engaged the audience. Presidential address was given by Mr Venugopal K (President, OYSTER). He thanked all the alumni members who have contributed to the alma mater and made the institution proud. Rev Fr Jose Alex CMI, Director, Rajagiri Institutions shared his experiences associated with the institution and wished the alumni members to continue their efforts in branding the institution. Dr Joseph I Injodey (Executive Director, Rajagiri Institutions) discussed about the efforts of alumni members in making the Rajagiri flag fly higher. Dr Binoy Joseph (Principal) mentioned about the new courses in Rajagiri as well as the structural change, Rajagiri is undergoing. Prof Thankam Jacob (Faculty Rajagiri 1970-80) shared her experiences with the audience. Dr Mary Venus Joseph (Dean and Administrator) addressed the gathering and introduced the batches being honoured. The alumni members, who have completed 60 years after completing their course in Rajagiri were honoured. Honouring Golden Jubilee batch (1966) and DSS, MA-PM & IR, MSW silver Jubilee batches (1991), honouring the decennial batches from MCA, MBA and BSW were also held. Mr M P Antoni (Treasurer, OYSTER) invited suggestions from the alumni members regarding the working of the OYSTER. Vote

of thanks was proposed by Mr Niran Joy(Joint Secretary, OYSTER) Photo Session was held and followed by Lunch at the college mess hall.









# **Executive Committee Meetings**

Executive board met once during the time perios

# Updation of the Alumni directory

Regular updation of the Alumni Directory is on with the available data and special thanks to Dr Mary Venus for supporting the cause.

## Alumni participation in the conferences and seminars

Alumni members had meaningful contribution to the institution as Resource persons and linkages for other resources during conferences and seminars organized by the various departments in the college.

## <u>Alumni visit to Rajagiri</u>

Alumni visiting Rajagiri had interactive sessions with faculty members and students. They enlightened the students by sharing their experiences and motivated them with the opportunities they have for a good career.

## Alumni Involvement in Syllabus Revision

The various departments in the college are having Alumni members as board of studies members. The board meets and takes decision on syllabus updating, new courses to be introduced and the teaching learning process.

## **Best Outgoing student in MSW Programme**

An award for Best Outgoing student in MSW Programme was initiated by 1984-86 MSW Batch in memory of Shri Roy & late Shri Chacko in connection with their Silver Jubilee Year. During the certificate awarding ceremony held in 2016, Ms Neethumol Xavier was awarded with the Roy & Chacko memorial cash award for the best outgoing student in MSW Programme.Prof K A Balakrishnan Memorial award was given to Ms Diya, Fr Arun and Ms Christina from MSW. Mr Emmanuel K Mani from Computer Science Department was awarded as the best student in memory of late Shri Manu Kurien.

# **Batch Get-togethers:**



# MSW 1994 PASS OUT Batch get-together, July 2016

## **Chapter news**

**Bengaluru Chapter:** Bengaluru chapter conducted 'Onaghosham' on 25<sup>th</sup> September 2016. The venue was Christ University Bengaluru. There were different events for children and also fun filled games for all the participants. The representatives from Rajagiri College of Social Sciences participated in the event. Around 50 alumni members gathered for the event.

Various chapters in Delhi, Chennai, and Trivandrum also meet occasionally.

We thank overseas alumni members especially in New Zealand and USA for supporting our students for their placement activities.

Chennai Chapter: Chennai Alumni members assembled on 14th May 2016 and shared their activities and achievements. They were also invited to be part of various consultancy projects run by Rajagiri. Many of them were already involved in those initiatives and promised to continue and support students on Internships/field placements in Chennai.



Trivandrum Chapter:

New chapter was formed at Trivandrum during 2013 and further meeting was conducted on 22<sub>nd</sub> February 2016 where 30 members participated. The members were introduced and a committee was formed to take the activities further.



### **Acknowledgements**

We wish to place on record the names of those individuals who have given us considerable support and assistance, and have extended invaluable guidance and goodwill to OYSTER during the year 2016.

- Fr.Cletus Plackal CMI, Provincial & Manager of S H Province, Kalamassery
- Rev Fr Jose Alex CMI, Director, Rajagiri Institutions
- Dr.Joseph I Injodey, Executive Director, Rajagiri Institutions
- Dr Binoy Joseph, Principal, RCSS
- Dr.Mary Venus Joseph, Dean, Research
- Fr.Saju M D,Finance Officer
- Mr.Venugopal K and all the executive members
- All the alumni members for their continued support and cooperation
- The entire department heads, faculty members and the live lab staff members.